PREPARING FOR THE MUSICAL AND OTHER EXCITING THINGS

I honestly had such amazing Easter Holidays.

First I flew over to London and spent four days there with Maya at her relative's place. They had a house right next to the Thames super close to the city centre and it was honestly amazing. Compared to when Maya came over to Ireland, it was more relaxing as we didn't plan anything but being together. We did explore London, went to the Kew Gardens which were simply magical and to Greenwich. We went out to a nearby pub for dinner on the second day together with Maya's family. It was honestly such a healing and pure experience, not only have I felt that I am part of that family but the two women gave me so much hope that I can have this too one day with my girlfriend. I have never met adult women in a happy relationship with children before and it felt as if I gained back ten years of my life. My time in London was magnificent and made me so incredibly happy. 

I really didn't want to leave, and apparently the universe got the hint because the metro, which was supposed to take me to the train which was supposed to take me to the airport had technical difficulties and got cancelled. I ended up getting a taxi and paying an unholy amount of money. In the end, I was just in time for the flight and made my way back to Dublin.

I am not gonna lie, the following day I felt like shit. I missed Maya, I missed London, I missed the family we stayed with. I deliberately took wanted that day to be for relaxing before my parents and then my grandparents would come over to visit me but I ended up lying in bed all day and feeling more or less empty and not getting better. But I was okay with it. I knew that I wouldn't have too much time to remain gloomy as my parents were arriving the following day and after they've left, my grandma would come and my musical rehearsals would start.

As expected, I snapped out of it when I got to wrap my arms around my parents and my brother. I was unbelievably happy to have them here but at the same time it was weird. It was an interesting shift in the dynamic that I was the one who knew the way around and my parents were thrown into an unfamiliar environment. I guess it was weird for me to see them looking around in awe while all of this was completely normal for me. During their short stay, I showed them Howth, Dublin, Bray, and on the last day we went to visit Newgrange, which was even new to me. I got to send home a suitcase full of stuff that I didn't need anymore which was a very good call. Overall it was very refreshing seeing my family again.

After they have left my grandma arrived and stayed for almost two weeks. It was also when I started having rehearsals for our musical, Beauty and the Beast. I was a little afraid to leave my grandmother alone, especially since she barely speaks English. When I asked her if it was okay that I left her during rehearsal she reassured me that it was totally fine and that she loved exploring her surroundings by herself. So even though we were close to each other, we didn't do everything together. I sometimes came over after rehearsal to have dinner with her or just talk. One day we went to Howth and on another we went to Dublin. Then school started for me so my grandma went off on her own. She was very excited and loved Ireland.

 

The first week back in school was when the musical was on and I am so glad that my grandmother was able to watch me on stage (I was in the chorus). I had a lot to do that week and was basically busy the whole time. On Saturday I went to Glendalough with my grandma and she was delighted. I said my goodbyes to her in the evening. It was really nice spending time with her. I learned so much about her that I didn't know before and came to the conclusion that she is a badass.

On Sunday we went to see Love, Simon with some friends and I just loved that film. It was amazing and exactly the kind of representation the LGBT+ community needs. 

 

Write a comment

Comments: 0