ANOTHER MONTH PASSING BY

I know, I know. It has been a while, but I really tried to write a new blog entry, I swear.

My weeks since the midterm-break have been packed and it is only about to get more stressful and packed.

 

But let's start at the very beginning, shall we? 

So the week I got back from midterm I started off with rehearsals for Beauty and the Beast on Monday and then I was busy researching and writing my speech for the debate on Wednesday. We got to the knockout stage, meaning that if we lost that debate, we were out. Our motion this time was "The EU is failing Africa" and we were opposing it. The other team was from a bilingual school, which happened to be German-English. They were very good and well prepared and it was real fun debating against them, even though it was clear pretty soon that we would lose. In the end, we were enjoying it at I have faith in them and believe that they'll even make it as far as the finals if they keep up that level of professionalism. On the taxi rides there and back home, Benedicta, Theresa and I were listening to German/Austrian music (even Schlager) and it was loads of fun just singing along to those songs and showing them to our Irish peers. Funnily enough, I was never really a person to listen to songs in German, but since I have been here it sometimes feels comforting and nice. On Thursday then, the fourth years, who were on the debating team were invited to come along with the fifth graders to the Bord Gáis to watch Macbeth. We got out of class and got to go to the theatre. That was amazing. I also enjoyed the play very much.

Friday I got out of school and went to a swimming gala instead. I was super nervous since I didn't know what to expect or how high the expectations were. Technically, I am a very very good swimmer, but at that point, I have only been in a pool once in a couple of months. Turns out my worrying was completely useless, the gala was way less "professional" as I expected and everything was fine. I even got two medals out of it.

Overall, I remember that I have been pretty anxious and stressed that week. Going back to school was dreadful and I felt homesick if I am being honest. And when I feel homesick, I tend to see all the negative things. It has been over half a year that my anxiety level was so high and I kind of forgot how to deal with it. It kind of carried on into the next week, even though I had a very nice weekend, meeting up with Deborah and having a nice walk to Malahide and back with Theresa.

 

The following week was a short one. Monday and Tuesday were draining and packed with unease for me. Monday we had rehearsals again and then on the next day we did the worst thing ever in sports. I don't know if you have ever heard of it, we don't have such stupid things in Austrian schools, but we did the Bleep (Beep?) Test in PE that day. Basically, you have to run back and forth and reach the other side before an unpleasant "beep!" sound. The time span between the bleeps gets shorter the longer you do it and you basically have to run until you die. I was so done afterwards, physically and mentally, that I just stayed in the dressing room with Laura for the last 20 minutes.

After all this, I was more than glad that Ireland can't handle snow. Yes, we had snow here, the biggest snowfall since 1982. I woke up in the middle of the night and looked outside. I couldn't believe my eyes. Everything was white. There was snow everywhere and I saw my host father walk out (he is a taxi driver) to clean down his car, but after a couple of minutes he changed his mind and simply went back to sleep. That moment I knew we won't have school that day. Or the following day. Or the next one.

For me, who is used to snow, it was funny seeing a whole country shut down due to the weather. I mean, I get it, they are not prepared here for snowstorms etc, the cars don't even have winter tires. However, I found the reaction to snow very funny. It also had something beautiful and serene, it seemed as if everyone took a moment to turn into children again to enjoy the snow or spent some more time together with family, huddled together in warm rooms. It was very interesting to see the beach during snowfall, I have never been at a sea where it was snowing.

Though, for some it was less enjoyable, a girl from Austria, who was supposed to return home on Wednesday had to stay with us till Saturday since all the flights were cancelled. Deep down, I was happy for the company, but I could also fully understand her longing for return, especially because it was kind of an emergency. My host family and I tried to make it as comfortable of a stay as possible for her.

Overall, I was very grateful for the additional break, as I really needed some time to calm down and pull myself together. I spent most of the time reading or working on my bullet journal and I have to say I am super pleased with the theme and design for March.

On Sunday then I tried out holding a Pathfinder round with my friends back in Vienna over Skype. It was a lot of fun and it felt so good to see my friends bickering and back together.

 

Back in school last week, I felt way better. I got assignments done, went to rehearsals, did sports and found out that there are 3 packages from my grandparents and parents on their way to my place. I am so excited for them.

Wednesday was amazing. We had a module called Heritage instead of normal classes which meant we would make our way to Howth that week instead of school. In Howth, we visited the RNLI station there (Lifeguard station) and it was a very enjoyable trip, but a sobering one. I didn't know much about the sacrifices someone has to make as a lifeguard and what's behind all of it. Afterwards, I made my way home and quickly changed before heading to school for rehearsals. From there, I took the bus to Swords, to celebrate Theresa's birthday. We went to get hot chocolate and then ate dinner at Nando's, where we ended up staying for more than two hours. It was past eight and the next bus wasn't coming for another hour. So when we found out that there was a carnival nearby we went to check it out. The rides were awesome and I felt truly alive for the first time in a while. That day was overall so cool and enjoyable.

On Saturday I went on a trip to Kilkenny, which was nice. I liked the castle there and I enjoyed spending some time with one of my friends here who I haven't seen in ages. We had such a delicious apple pie crumble ice cream. It was heavenly. Honestly. 10/10 would eat again (and again, and again).

Yesterday, on Sunday, then, I was helping out with one of the Italian groups from MLI. I accompanied them on a orientation tour through Dublin and then they were sent off on a treasure hunt. In the afternoon we went to Howth. It was a very exhausting day, but a good one.

 

This weeks seems just as tightly packed as the last ones, I have four rehearsals per week now, essays and projects due in various subjects and on Wednesday, our school has a "International Culture Day", where I'll be standing at a table, talking about Hungary and its culture. One of the parcels contains a traditional Hungarian dress I plan to wear that day and I am so excited to be able to introduce people to my culture and my roots. Friday we plan to go and see Black Panther after school.

Then, my weekend will consist of a trip to Bray and Glendalough (with another Italian group) and meeting up with Laura do bake something. Luckily we'll have Monday off as well so I'll meet up with Deborah then.

 

As you can see, my days are busy and I am mostly to tired or exhausted to do anything else than sleeping or reading in my free time.

I hope you liked this update and I'll try to write some more entries in the next few weeks.

Evelin

Write a comment

Comments: 0