BACK AGAIN

It's Monday. First day of school in 2018.

Overall it was a decent day, we didn't do much. I went home for the lunch break since lots of my friends weren't in school today and I didn't want to sit alone at lunch. Turns out there was a debate meeting and I am going to speak at tomorrow's debate. Yay. No, actually, I am happy about every opportunity to speak.

 

I arrived back to Ireland on Saturday. If I am being honest, I was super glad to be back. Like, I was pretty eager to return. Not that I didn't enjoy my time back in Austria, on the contrary, it was such a good decision to go back home over the holidays. I caught up with my friends, had enjoyable and relaxing days with my family. The Christmas parties were less stressful than I expected.

Once I was back, stress overtook for some reason. I found hundreds of things I still "had to" do before or for school. Funnily enough I panicked so much that I was incapable of doing any of the things I needed to do. So, what I have done was finishing two books (Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo and Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater). As always, I left the school work for the last minute, doing it at night until midnight. Turns out I didn't need it for today anyways so there's that. 

 

I went running yesterday and today. Well, I ran for a while, until I got to the beach and then I walked and ran some more on the way back home. It was extremely windy yesterday and I wasn't dressed sufficiently for a long walk on the beach. My hands were so frozen that even after more than an hour back home I couldn't rely 100% on them (I spilled soup over my blanket). My whole body was one big ice block. The waves at the beach were breathtaking and really worth the pain. They were super high and I felt free, wild and ready to run into them. It was wonderful. I would have taken pictures but I left everything at home, except for my keys. I didn't want any distractions. Not knowing the time due to leaving my watch at home was liberating in a weird way. I don't know how long I have been out that day. I just know that it would have been enough to catch a mean cold, but I didn't.

Today I didn't go alone. I met up with Laura near the school and we went down to the beach again. This time I had more and warmer clothes on (still came home freezing, though). I think the purpose today was less exercising and more just being there for each other and talking. We went for a long long walk. 

 

Right now, I am super tired for no reason, so I will be going to sleep now. I hope you had a nice start into the new year!

Evelin

Write a comment

Comments: 0