DECEMBER DEVELOPMENTS

Another entry in such a short time? It must be Christmas! 

 

I mean it's almost Christmas anyways. Today I want to tell you about my Community Care placement in the primary school down the road. I just finished with my first five days there and I am really looking forward to next week as well. For those who were wondering what Community Care is, in Transition Year you have to find two work placements for two weeks each. So instead of having Christmas Exams, 4th year has their first working experience, which has to be something "helping the community" (hence the name Community Care). I chose to work in the primary school here in Portmarnock. 

When I went in on Monday I realized that there are a total of 7 students from my school working there as well for the two weeks. Another girl and I were sent to one of the sixth classes (last year of primary school, children aged 11-12) where our job was to make some props for their Christmas play. It was so much fun, just painting and crafting stuff. The class we sit in is super funny and within this one week, I grew to love these children. During the week we got tasks like sewing costumes out of bed sheets for their play (they did A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens) and on Friday we got to do their make-up for the show. Most of the time we are chilling or helping with the play, one day I even participated in history class and on Thursday after the rehearsal the students got to ask us questions about secondary school. Today, after we painted their faces for the show, some girl decided that I need a makeover as well and you can see on the picture how that went. One girls braided my hair as well and to be honest, it hasn't looked that good in ages. After the play we just went back to class and watched a movie (The Martian) until school was over.

 

During this week, I haven't done so much in the afternoons. On Tuesday I went for a walk on the beach with Aodhan and Wednesday was gym day. 

Today though, I met up with Laura and Bene to make Christmas Biscuits. We made "Vanillekipferl" and "Weihnachtsplätzchen" with receipts from my grandma. They turned out amazing and we had a fun time together.

Tomorrow I am invited to Diandra's birthday party where we will exchange our "Christkindl" (Wichteln in German) gifts and as far as I know, do an Escape Room. I am looking forward to tell you about my second week of Community Care and I will definitely post another update before Christmas.

 

Lastly, there are only eight days left in Ireland this year. I can't wait to get home and be finally reunited with my family and friends. Overall, I think going home over the Holidays will act recharging and will make the remaining five months more "bearable" and amazing. 

 

Be excited for the next update!

 

Evelin

Write a comment

Comments: 0