MORE THAN 3 MONTHS HERE


Hey everyone!

 

Again, it has been a while since my last entry. The 23rd of November was the day where I officially spent 3 months here now. So what have I been doing since my last entry?

 

On the 19th of November I had a preparation meeting for our next debate, meaning that a couple of us met up in the PSLC and we worked on our speeches. At first at least, then we were just talking and we ended up playing billiard. I am so grateful for the friends I have made through debating. We even hang out at lunch time now, outside of the meetings and play cards. 

The debate about gender quota where I was team captain turned out just fine. We won unanimously again against a really good school. I couldn't believe it, it was our second win (and certainly not last) this year and considering that last year's debate team didn't win any of the debates we are doing more than just well. If we are already on the topic of debates, after some cancellations and rearrangements we did out third debate on the 29th and won again. That was a harder one though. I didn't speak at that one but came anyway for support.

 

During the last weeks I also met up with Deborah at some point in Dubin. We were keeping each other updated and talked about how this year abroad is going for us. I plan to meet her before Christmas, before we both fly home.

 

Up until this week I have been going swimming in the morning and worked out pretty much in general. It is a nice feeling to stretch your boundaries again and challenge yourself.

And then of course, there was my trip to Glendalough. We went on the 23rd and came back on the 24th. I have to say, it was demanding, as we hiked 35 km in two days, but I expected it to be a little more exhausting. Despite the fact that almost everyone was complaining, I would probably do this again. Glendalough and the surrounding scenery was simply gorgeous. I took some pictures and I will definitely add them shortly. One thing I didn't enjoy that much was that I got pretty homesick at some point. I went with people whom I barely knew and found myself isolated. Not that the others weren't friendly or avoided me, I was simply expecting from this experience to bring us closer together and integrate me more. For some time, I couldn't stop thinking of how much "better" it would have been if I went with my friends, my family or my classmates back in Austria, which is, admittedly, not the best thing to do. In the end, I overcame most of those thoughts and had overall a damn good time.

 

I started doing the Christmas shopping in the end of November, which turned out to be a very good idea because I already have all the presents at this point and I don't have to worry about them any more. 

I even had the first gift exchange when Theresa and I met up with Lena to celebrate in town since she is already flying on the 12th of December. We had a great time and enjoyed ourselves very much. 

 

As mentioned before, I will be flying home for Christmas. For a long time I refused to see that as an option, since, for some reason, I thought I would be "weak" or "missing out on the whole experience" if I am going home. Obviously that is complete bullshit and luckily I realized that as well. My flight is on the 23rd of December and my family and Maya will get me from the airport. I am so looking forward to seeing everyone again and being at home in Vienna and Hungary. Up until then, I have still a lot to do and to experience.

 

I have three more things to say in this update. Firstly I want to mention how my last weeks of school were and what I had to do for grades etc. Then, I want to tell you about the trip our school planned for all of TY on the 8th, the last day of school. Lastly, I have to talk about my last visit to Dublin and the surprising coincidence. 

Okay so as I am in Transition Year, we didn't have and Christmas Exams. However, the teachers still needed to do something they could grade us on. Most of them let us do Oral Presentations which I had absolutely no problems with, in fact, I even enjoyed doing them. In Maths and Physics we had tests, which I expected to be way harder and more difficult than they turned out to be. I didn't even have to study beforehand. Overall, the work I had to do was completely manageable and nothing too hard. I actually did more than expected from me since I am used to way higher standards, both coming from the school and from myself. There was just one moment where my heart almost stopped and that was when I found out that we had to do a project and presentation in Politics...the day where we had to hand it in and present. I honestly felt horrible and had to convince myself for the rest of the day that it really isn't important and that this is a way for me to learn how to fail sometimes. Later it turned out that more than half of the class didn't have it so we got until next week to finish it, which I did and everything was completely fine. 

The last real day of school was the 7th, since the whole 4th year went bowling and then went to the cinema. We got split into two groups since we were way too many people to go as one collective. I was in the group that went bowling first and then to Burger King. I really, really enjoyed that day. We then got to watch Jumanji 2 before the official release and it was hilarious. The movie itself was okay, typical Hollywood and really nothing special but it was entertaining to some extend so I really didn't mind. Also Karen Gillian played one of the main roles and I just love her so that was a big plus. On the way home I got a pretty bad message from home (no, luckily no one died or got sick, but what I found out still hit me hard) so on the way back I was just sitting on the bus, bawling my eyes out. At least five people asked me if I am alright and if there is anything they could do for me. I was so grateful for their empathy. Now, I am more or less over it but I think I just need time to process it wholly. Overall, I couldn't have wished for a better last day of school.

And now lastly, I went into town this weekend to buy the remaining presents and to (hopefully) meet Vivi, who was going to come up from Kerry to Dublin that day. While I was on my way in, Vivi texted me that she had important plans already for that day and so couldn't meet up with me. Oh well then, I will just going to get the presents and drive back home then. But as I was walking down the streets, I heard some familiar voices. I turned around and saw Antonia and a couple of other girls I spent the Orientation days in August with. There was a dramatic reunion hug and utter disbelief on all of our faces. I mean, what are the odds right? I obviously spent the rest of the day with them, catching up and talking. Later, Benedicta joined us as well. I was so happy that we ran into each other. We ended the day with Toto, Bene and me eating at Wagamama's.

 

 

So yeah, this is pretty much a summary of the past few weeks. I love it here and once again, I am so grateful to have this experience, to have met all these amazing people. I wouldn't trade this for anything in the world.

Write a comment

Comments: 0