11 DAYS LEFT

The countdown is on, and it's going down (down in an earlier round, sugar we're going down swinging).

 

I have been spending the last days with friends at my grandparents place in Hungary. We were there for a week, shopping, sightseeing, relaxing and enjoying our last days together. Before that, a friend from Linz (hi Mia) came to visit me in Vienna and we all collectively did some stuff together (we were like, 15 people). I also played some Pathfinder rounds with classmates and other friends. I basically tried to squeeze in as many activities as possible with my friends (greetings to y'all at this point, I love you all very much).

Up to this day I have been very distracted, people around me kept my mind busy and myself on my feet. It just dawned on me today that there are literally 11 days left till my departure. Eleven.

I haven't made up my mind yet, of what is dominating my thoughts; Excitement or anxiety, I am tending towards excitement though. I have been chatting over WhatsApp with my host mom and I like her more and more as the days are passing by. We started exchanging pictures and I will ask her later if I can also feature them on my blog. 

Since the day for me to leave comes closer and closer I have to start thinking about packing and how to do it efficiently and what I need to take with me. I will also clean up my room completely and I don't know, think about anything I need. It feels so weird saying that, I did not dare to say it out loud yet. My room will be empty for a year. * Life will go on here, without me. How will my family live without my presence in our flat? Will there be a lot of changes when I come back? That whole thing is equally exiting and scary as hell. I think the most important thing now is to really focus on my host family and my exchange year. I am really trying not to think too much about the people I leave behind. Sometimes those thoughts catch me off guard and I suddenly realize how many changes there are going to be and how many adjustments I have to go through. And most certainly how much I am going to miss my friends and family. Today for example I said good-bye to my grandparents and it just hit me a little bit later.

 

Otherwise I am doing pretty fine, for the next 3 days I planned to spend time with my parents and start packing/organizing stuff afterwards.

I just had some really cool days with some of my best friends and will now enjoy some quality time with my family. Busy days are ahead, wish me luck (will definitely have fun though).

 

I just remembered that my classmate who is also doing an exchange year (she got a family in Mississippi, USA) arrived 2 days ago. I still have to ask her how her flight was and what she thinks of her host family now that she met them in person.

 

Greetings from an excited Evelin

 

 

 

*NOTE: Apparently my parents replaced me with laundry (not sure if I think that is funny or not). They will use my room for drying the clothes and as storage room. I mean at least it is not empty for a year. 

Write a comment

Comments: 0