GUYS BIG NEWS

Guess who just got the email that they finally have a host family. Yeah you are right, me. Funny how it took me completely by surprise. We are currently on vacation in Norway (at the moment) and Finland. My father suddenly turns around and asks me if I have checked my mails. I didn't dare to hope, it could have been anything. But then he said: "Oh that's a nice family name" 

Like, wow. After such a long time of anxiously waiting I finally got the names of the people I get to spend a year with. I look pretty calm right now, but on the inside I am a total chaos of feelings, mostly excitement and curiosity. 

The description of my host family was short. Wife and husband, four kids, all of them grown up and the two younger ones (in their twenties) living at home, they are a very active family and, THEY HAVE A DOG! Dogs are pure, dogs are amazing, dogs are fantastic, I can't control my excitement.

I already wrote an email to the mother, which was harder than expected since you only got one first impression and you want it to be as good as it gets. I just finished it and now I am typing my blog entry. 

 

This whole thing felt so unreal up until this point. And now, look at me having a host family. This is the point where I realize that this is really happening

It may be interesting to say that my first impression was decent. The description the organisation sent me was very little and I wouldn't say I was disappointed but I hoped for more information. Then I thought about it for a second and read through it again. At this point I started to get more curious. Then a friend of mine (Hi, Mia!) pointed out so many advantages and good points that I totally fell for this family. So, what did we learn from that? Don't judge immediately and if you are curious to find out more, email your host family.

 

I may write some more once everything settled in, because right now, my mind is full with impressions and emotions but I somehow can't put all that into words.

 

Evelin

Write a comment

Comments: 0